For the Love of…Glee!

Alright, I know some people are just sick of hearing about Fox’s show, Glee, but hey!  I love it. What can I say, I’m a sucker for music. Anyways, Glee has been really great, once I finally got introduced to it. I mean, who doesn’t love a bit of drama mixed in  with a good variety of music? My favorite characters are Kurt and Blaine. Hey! I was a fan of “Blaine” before he was even Blaine. I mean, Darren Criss is fantastic! I love him in A Very Potter Musical. It was interesting. When he first appeared on Glee, I was strug-gling to find out who he was. Then for some reason when I heard him singing, all I could think about was AVPM and I burst out laughing. My college roommate thought I was crazy, but, after I covinced her to watch an episode of Glee, then an episode of AVPM, she laughed too.

And it’s not just the whole “hey we talk about gay people on this show” either. They deal with real-life shit. I mean, not many GOOD shows have people getting knocked up, married, dying, coming out of the closet, singing!, or having a character just bash the heck out of everyone else (in other words, Sue Sylvester!) Shoot, I wish people would start spontaneously singing. I mean, hey I am in college, and we do have some pretty strange things go on here (Like a kid running around in a horse costume being chased by a guy with a toy rifle) but it is nothing compared to the fun that goes on in Glee.

It’s not even a bad thing that this is a musical television show. I mean, there are some really great musical movies out there, i.e. Moulin Rouge, Phantom of the Opera, Sound of Music, and Grease, but  the fact that someone created a television show just like a movie, it’s fantastic!

The fan-base is huge, too. Their Facebook page has over 11 mil. fans. That is awesome!

So, you might ask, why did I start my “For the Love of…” Blog on Glee? Well, Glee’s Facebook is having a contest, one I am hoping to win (obviously). And because Glee is so amazing, I figured, why the hell not? You get a great cast together that has their own unique personalities, throw in a couple of dramatic, sometimes annoying scenes, and awesome music and you get this fantastic show. Gleeks from around the world can’t wait for the Super Bowl this Sunday, not  just for the commercials (sorry, really not a football fan) but for the special Glee episode that will be airing right after.

Now, I have to admit that one of my favorite episodes was the Christmas one. I loved the fact that they were using Sue Sylvester as the Grinch. All time favorite episode, however, would have to be “Never Been Kissed.” This episode covered some intense shit. I mean, an openly gay kid being antagonized by a closed in gay kid, then being kissed by him, it was great. Plus, of course, Darren Criss was in the episode, so the little fangirl in me was squealing like crazy. Hey! I am sorry that I am attracted to a young hot actor. Actually, no I am not sorry. He is amazing. End of Story.

I was absolutely surprised that so many people are into this show, though. I mean, when many of my friends hear the word “musical” just for a movie, they immediately leave or watch another movie. But it’s just so amazing that so many people have come together with the love of the show, and even the music that is played out.

“For the Love of…” will continue tomorrow with a new love of mine. Wait and see what it will be!

~ by HelixRook on February 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
