For the Love of… Writing!

Alright, so I was published on HarryPotterFanfiction.com on my first submission. I am super excited about this because my fanfiction is for a contest. As promised, I have the link available: http://www.harrypotterfanfiction.com/viewstory.php?psid=295157 . Readers are welcome to come join and review my work. As it states, it is still a work in progress, and my first published work for fanfiction so pleas be kind.

Where do I even begin with writing, though? I mean, for starters, there are so many great and talented authors out there, and not just book authors. In the fanfiction world there are so many amazing writers. I figure I will strive to improve my fanfiction until I am comfortable, then I will really get down to working on my own stories. That isn’t to say that I haven’t started any of my own stories; in fact, I have started about three to five different stories. I just have to go back and work on them.

My one story that I have put the most effort into is a two-part book. Book 1 involves two characters who are thrown together by a prophecy from elves. Book 2 centers around their children. I won’t give details, but I may publish some pieces of it online…. Let’s just say that the way I write, no one is ever safe from dying. And I mean no one. Also, like my favorite author, I do not kill off characters, then bring them back to life unless there is some way that they could have legitly survived. See, my stories aren’t like Twilight. Sure, there is romance and magic. But people actually die, people actually break up, people actually kill themselves, and suffer and are actually HUMAN FUCKING BEINGS.

The newest fanfiction for Harry Potter I am working on revolves around a part-human creature called a “faux l’homme,” which means fake human in French. The MC is a girl who was adopted by Severus Snape, but in secret, and she shows up unexpectedly at his funeral. She also has a body guard; but their story is rather unique. They aren’t in love, nor are they gonna be having children (or maybe they will), but being faux l’homme, they are different. And the other -part they are is going to spin some heads. I also have thought about twisiting off that fanficiton, and just turning it into an actual story. Well, considering I am the writer of both, I think I am quite capable of doing both.

Now, the path of a  writer is a hard one. First off, the writer has to come up with their own ideas, characters, dialogue, plot, etc. as well as figure out how they are going to incorporate certain aspects of their story together. For me, I am very nit-picky. I absolutely have to tie up each and every loose end that I can. Even while I was writing my HP FF, I was going through books 5-7 like crack just to make sure the details were absolutely perfect (or as much perfect as I could get them while tying together the story). For example, I had to refer repeatedly to Book 5 just for details about what people said at which parts in “Snape’s Worst Memory”, when certain plots, like when the Marauders became Animagi(?), and when the Marauders would have learned that Lupin was a werewolf. I had to figure out when Lily and Severus were talking about Severus’s friends, and when Severus went down the tunnel of the Whomping Willow and was saved by James Potter. I seriously had a fever of some kind while I was writing that fanfiction. I couldn’t help but make sure that all the details worked out.

Well, I guess that is enough for today. Tune in tomorrow for another addition of “For the Love of..” Snape_Redeemed out.

~ by HelixRook on February 7, 2011.

5 Responses to “For the Love of… Writing!”

  1. Wow, you’re really dedicated to do all that research.

    When I write fanfiction, I tend not to create my own characters/creatures/deviate too much from what Rowling created. I guess I see it as an excercise in writing consistently, especially with the personalities of the characters.

    Good luck in the contest!

    • Thank you! I try hard to make sure that everything is absolutely perfect. Unfortunately, that usually means I don’t always get my story done. I got lucky this time. I’ll know by the end of the month how the contest went. By the by, your user name is rather curious. Would that be your actual name, a play on your name, or just named from a book character? I was just curious because I’ve seen characters named Veralidaine in books.

      • Yeah, I got it from the character Veralidaine Sarassri from The Immortals quartet by Tamora Pierce. I love all her books that are placed in Tortall but Daine is my absolute favourite character. Unfortunately, ‘Veralidaine’ was already taken as a username so I just tweaked the spelling a bit.

      • I thought so. I love all of Tamora Pierce’s books. After J.K. Rowling, she is my favorite.

  2. I dont like fanfiction sites..admin review takes too long.

Leave a Reply

 
