For the Love of… Harry Potter marathon

Well, sorry folks, I am actually really distracted today. You see, me and my roommate are having a Harry Potter Marathon today, which means that my thoughts will be on the  Harry Potter series, and nothing else. So, why not have a “For the Love of…” about this lovely marathon.

We will begin at 12:30. Assuming our calculations are correct, we will be done sometime around four or so tomorrow morning. Well, we are college students. It’s alright for us to have a break every once in a while. We’ve worked hard and earned it. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets were the better ones due to actors and quality. After that, things get a little screwy. My favorite after those two there is Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (in its own way, not because it follows/doesn’t follow the book), and, of course, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. Now, I will admit it. I was pretty irritated with DH Part 1. I was angry at the fact that they had the opportunity to fix  the problems of the Horcruxes from the 6th movie, but didn’t and instead added a lot of random filler, and the fact that Dobby looked too fake in comparison with his self from Chamber of Secrets.

But still, I can’t help but love the movie series. Although they don’t follow everything from the books, and, especially in the 5th movie, which was my least favorite, add a ton of humor, the movies are still really great. Another issue with the movie series is, yes, the fact that they delayed the 3rd movie, the fact that the actors had major growth spurts from movie 2 to movie 3, and the fact that they were now portraying 20 something years olds as 15-17 or so.

But as for Part 2, I can’t wait. At all. My mind is  going to implode when I see Snape’s memories, when I see the escape from Gringotts on a dragon, when Harry goes out to meet his death, and of course, the all important epilogue. Alright, I guess I did forget to mention the fact that I want to see Mrs. Molly Weasley have her epically amazing moment in killing that retched Bellatrix Lestrange. I think the audience is going to cheer when that happens. I know I will be.

Still, we have quite a while left before Part 2 comes out for the Deathly Hallows. Here’s my angry retort for the post. Screw you, Twilight in trying to slash your book 4 into 2 movies. Harry Potter at least has substance. What the hell are you suppose to do when there is no action, no major fight at the end, and the only semi-interesting that happens is the fact that a dead body impregnated a human. Fuck you Stephanie Meyer. Now back to our regularly scheduled broadcast.

I think that’s it for today. My marathon is about to begin. Keep an eye out for the next edition of “For the Love of…” Snape_Redeemed out.

~ by helixredeemer on February 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
