For the Love of… Fanfictions

Alright, that’s not too clever, seeing as I’ve already gotten a post out about writing, but here’s the thing: I have been on and off fanfiction sites for the past two weeks like crack and I need to get my stories out there. End of story. Well, not this story, at least.

Anyways, I figure, why not a full-blown thing focused on just fanfiction? I mean, in fanfiction, you can have any character do whatever you want. You can create pairings that you’ve always dreamed of. You can combine stories, movies, books, etc. and their characters together to bring out an amazing story.

I think the pairings are the most entertaining. I mean, in Harry Potter FF you can get Draco/Hermione (Dramione), Snape/Lily (these are cute, in my opinion), Voldemort/OC, Lupin/OC, Ginny/Draco (not so much a fan of), and more! They have a master list on the HPFF forums; ridiculously long list that has about 250+ pairings, and that is without putting Person/OC in there. INSANE.

Figuring out what happens to characters is also really great. I just read a heart-touching one about (spoiler for Deathly Hallows) Colin Creevey’s death. He was walking around with his camera, trying to help Harry out by making sure there was conclusive proof that he was a good guy, and then he was killed.  I’ve even read some really good ones about Lily and the Marauders somehow learning about Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s/Sorcerer’s Stone book, reading it, and changing the future. It was really entertaining.

But I think what I love most about fanfictions is the fact that you can do anything you’ve ever dreamed about in there. Sure you could do it with a story of your own making, but if the idea came to you while watching something, you could write it out and MAKE it real. I love seeing the ideas that come through in writing. It is absolutely fascinating seeing the ideas of other authors and how they interpret things. Just simply fantastic.

While I know this is rather short, and I didn’t have a “For the Love of…” up yesterday (lack of sleep-induced stupor), I do need to call this off here and just say that hopefully tomorrow there will be a better, and longer addition to “For the Love of…” Until then, Mischief Managed! (haha sorry, had to throw that in there. Snape_Redeemed out.

~ by helixredeemer on February 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
