Once upon a time…I managed to accomplish something

Today I learned that I am going to a national competition for a writing piece I did through church group. I am absolutely thrilled by this, but am also nervous, because, in all honesty, I have no idea how I won. I mean, yes, I am very passionate about writing, and I really enjoy doing things I am passionate about (go figure), but I honestly didn’t believe that my work was well enough to go to nationals. You see, ever since a little competition I entered earlier this year *cough*not gonna mention it again*cough* I’ve been really depressed about how my writing is. I don’t feel like I am an accomplished writer, yet here I am, getting recognition for my work. I just don’t understand it. I mean, I felt better about the fanfiction I wrote than I did about this story. I don’t know, maybe I am biased, or something, but I felt more confident about the fanfiction than I did about this piece that won. While I know that the piece I wrote is decent enough for a story, it is rather cliché , and in all honesty, just a bit old, in my opinion. I just felt that I had to write it out. God spoke to me and told me to write it, so I did. I guess he had his reasons, because now I am going to nationals, but I just…I’m not feeling it for that piece.

However, I am glad. Now, I can edit that story, because when I originally turned it in, I had less than a day to edit it. So, bad editing job on my part. But still, I am just excited that I can get this thing going now. I’ve got some time on my hands, and I know now where I want this thing to go, so I think I can perfect it just right. Or at least, I am hoping I can. I don’t know… I don’t feel good enough, like my writing just got through because no one entered my category or something. I’m afraid to go to nationals. Nationals, by the by, is several MONTHS away, so my fear is rather unwarranted for right now. Still, I am freaking out. Kill me.

Oh that reminds me. I went on that lovely field trip today. In all honesty, it went better than I thought it would. While it was informative and depressing (it was about a fire in which 6 firefighters were killed in), it was also kind of nice. While it was freezing out and the sun didn’t stick around as much as we would have liked, the overall atmosphere was good. I didn’t get sick, I didn’t pass out, I didn’t kill anyone, and I managed to somewhat enjoy myself. While I didn’t really socialize with my classmates, in all honesty  none of them talked to me either and I rarely know what they are talking about when they do, I did get a nice workout in and am not as sore as I thought I would be. Granted I haven’t gone to bed yet, and haven’t been able to sleep even on the van ride, I am not really tired. That aside, I’m waiting for my roommate to return, so that we can swap stories. She’s the one who let me know my story got through. Bless her, God, You gave me an awesome roommate.

I guess that’s enough rambling for today. While my last post didn’t get a shit ton of reviews like my rambling one did (For whatever reason, I never did learn), I really don’t mind. I think I’m done for tonight. Gonna relax and get some Zzzz’s. Snape_Redeemed out.

~ by HelixRook on March 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “Once upon a time…I managed to accomplish something”

  1. Congrats on going to nationals in that writing competition Emilou! Miss you! You owe me a letter silly girl! (:

Leave a Reply

 
